--Advertisements--
Disable my Instagram Account and Keep My Profile Hidden
October 3, 2022
--Advertisements--

Disable my Instagram Account and Keep My Profile Hidden Until I Reactivate

--Advertisements--

For some reason, I might decide to disable my Instagram account. People have different reasons for deactivating their accounts on Instagram and this does not mean that the account has been deleted. The profile is still intact but is temporarily hidden from other users until reactivation. Because of the features Instagram possesses, it can become quite addictive and you may want to disable it temporarily or delete your Instagram account permanently.

Instagram is one of the most popular social media platforms where you can share photos and videos through the Instagram app to your followers and interact with them through likes, shares, and comments. You can also use the Instagram app to send a private message to people too.  This article will guide you on the steps you need to take to disable your Instagram account or delete your Instagram account permanently. So, at the end of this article, the question: “how do I disable my Instagram account?” would have been answered. Just go through the entire article and you’ll learn this simple process.

About Instagram

--Advertisements--

Instagram is a free online social media platform that allows its users to share photos, and videos and chat privately through the app it was founded by Kevin Systrom and Mike Kreger. Instagram which is commonly known as IG gives its users the opportunity to caption each of their posts, edit their posts and interact with their followers through comments likes and shares. When you make a post on Instagram, your post appears on the feed of your Instagram followers and can also be visible to the public when you use hashtags or geotags. Instagram also contains filters that can filter and make your pictures clearer and brighter.

How to Disable My Instagram Account

You can choose to disable your Instagram account temporarily. When you do this, your photos, profile, comment, and likes on Instagram will still be intact but will be hidden and you can reactivate them by logging back into Instagram. Disabling your Instagram account can only be done from your desktop or your mobile browser. To disable your Instagram account temporarily, here are a few steps to follow:

--Advertisements--
    1. From your computer, log in to instagram.com. Note that you can’t disable your account temporarily from your Instagram app;
    2. On the top right corner of the page, click on the profile picture, and then click on Profile, after clicking on profile, click on Edit Profile;
    3. When you click on edit profile, scroll down and on the bottom right corner, click on Disable my account;
    4. You will see a drop-down menu, select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account and then enter your Instagram password.
    5. After entering the reason you want to disable your account and have entered your password, the option to disable your account will appear;
    6. You can then click on temporarily disable Account.
--Advertisements--

How to Delete Instagram Account

Deleting your Instagram account is permanent and when you do this, your profile, photos, videos, comments, followers and likes will also be deleted permanently. However, after deleting your account and you want to sign up to Instagram again with the same username, you can still do that provided the username hasn’t already been taken by another person on Instagram. But if your account is removed from Instagram for violating the Instagram community guidelines, you will not be able to sign up to Instagram with the same username again. Instagram also gives you the opportunity to log in and download a copy of your information on Instagram before deleting your account. You need to have your username and password to be able to delete your Instagram account. When you are sure you want to permanently delete your Instagram account, here are the steps to follow; 

  1. On your mobile browser or computer, go to the Delete account page. You need to be logged in to your Instagram page to be able to delete your Instagram account. You cannot also delete your Instagram account from your Instagram app;
  2. From the drop-down menu, select an option next to why are you deleting your account and enter your password after which the option to permanently delete your account will appear;
  3. Click on Delete.

Your account and all the information contained in your account will be deleted after 30 days of requesting for your account to be deleted and after this is completed, you will not be able to recover the information that was contained in the account.

--Advertisements--

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.